Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Paraguay Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Paraguay
      conventional short form: Paraguay
      local long form: Republica del Paraguay
      local short form: Paraguay

      Data code PA

      Government type republic

      National capital Asuncion

      Administrative divisions 18 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento); Alto Paraguay,Alto Parana, Amambay, Asuncion, Boqueron, Caaguazu, Caazapa, Canindeyu, Central,Concepcion, Cordillera, Guaira, Itapua, Misiones, Neembucu, Paraguari, PresidenteHayes, San Pedro

      Independence 14 May 1811 (from Spain)

      National holiday Independence Days, 14-15 May (1811)

      Constitution promulgated 20 June 1992

      Legal system based on Argentine codes, Roman law, and French codes; judicial reviewof legislative acts in Supreme Court of Justice; does not accept compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal and compulsory up to age 60

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Juan Carlos WASMOSY (since 15 August 1993) and Vice PresidentRoberto Angel SEIFART (since 15 August 1993); note - the president is boththe chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Juan Carlos WASMOSY (since 15 August 1993) and Vice PresidentRoberto Angel SEIFART (since 15 August 1993); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet : Council of Ministers nominated by the president
      elections: president and vice president elected on the same ticket by popular votefor five-year terms; election last held 9 May 1993 (next to be held NA May1998)
      election results: Juan Carlos WASMOSY elected president; percent of vote - Juan CarlosWASMOSY 40.09%, Domingo LAINO 32.06%, Guillermo CABALLERO VARGAS 23.04%

      Legislative branch bicameral Congress or Congreso consists of the Chamber of Senators orCamara de Senadores (45 seats; members are elected by popular vote to servefive-year terms) and the Chamber of Deputies or Camara de Diputados (80 seats;members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: Chamber of Senators - last held 9 May 1993 (next to be held 10 May 1998);Chamber of Deputies - last held 9 May 1993 (next to be held NA May 1998)
      election results : Chamber of Senators - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party- Colorado Party 20, PLRA 17, EN 8; Chamber of Deputies - percent of voteby party - NA; seats by party - Colorado Party 38, PLRA 33, EN 9

      Judicial branch Supreme Court of Justice (Corte Suprema de Justicia), judges appointedon the proposal of the Counsel of Magistrates (Consejo de la Magistratura)

      Political parties and leaders Colorado Party, Luis Maria ARGANA, president; Authentic Radical LiberalParty (PLRA), Domingo LAINO; National Encounter (EN), Carlos FILIZZOLA; ChristianDemocratic Party (PDC), Miguel MONTANER; Febrerista Revolutionary Party (PRF),Victor SANCHEZ Villagra; Popular Democratic Party (PDP), Hugo Richer

      Political pressure groups and leaders Unitary Workers Central (CUT); Roman Catholic Church; National WorkersCentral (CNT); Paraguayan Workers Confederation (CPT)

      International organization participation AG (observer), CCC, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU,ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM,ISO, ITU, LAES, LAIA, Mercosur, OAS, OPANAL, PCA, RG, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO,UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador Jorge G. PRIETO CONTI
      chancery: 2400 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 483-6960 through 6962
      FAX: [1] (202) 234-4508
      consulate(s) general : Miami and New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Robert E. SERVICE
      embassy: 1776 Avenida Mariscal Lopez, Casilla Postal 402, Asuncion
      mailing address: Unit 4711, APO AA 34036-0001
      telephone: [595] (21) 213-715
      FAX: [595] (21) 213-728

      Flag description three equal, horizontal bands of red (top), white, and blue with anemblem centered in the white band; unusual flag in that the emblem is differenton each side; the obverse (hoist side at the left) bears the national coatof arms (a yellow five-pointed star within a green wreath capped by the wordsREPUBLICA DEL PARAGUAY, all within two circles); the reverse (hoist side atthe right) bears the seal of the treasury (a yellow lion below a red Cap of Liberty and the words Paz y Justicia (Peace and Justice) capped by the wordsREPUBLICA DEL PARAGUAY, all within two circles)

      NOTE: The information regarding Paraguay on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Paraguay Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Paraguay Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor
    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2023 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)