Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Dominican Republic Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Dominican Republic
    conventional short form: none
    local long form: Republica Dominicana
    local short form: none

    Data code: DR

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Santo Domingo

    Administrative divisions: 29 provinces (provincias, singular—provincia) and 1 district* (distrito); Azua, Baoruco, Barahona, Dajabon, Distrito Nacional*, Duarte, Elias Pina, El Seibo, Espaillat, Hato Mayor, Independencia, La Altagracia, La Romana, La Vega, Maria Trinidad Sanchez, Monsenor Nouel, Monte Cristi, Monte Plata, Pedernales, Peravia, Puerto Plata, Salcedo, Samana, Sanchez Ramirez, San Cristobal, San Juan, San Pedro de Macoris, Santiago, Santiago Rodriguez, Valverde

    Independence: 27 February 1844 (from Haiti)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 27 February (1844)

    Constitution: 28 November 1966

    Legal system: based on French civil codes

    Suffrage: 18 years of age, universal and compulsory; married persons regardless of age
    note: members of the armed forces and police cannot vote

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Leonel FERNANDEZ Reyna (since 16 August 1996); Vice President Jaime David FERNANDEZ Mirabal (since 16 August 1996); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President Leonel FERNANDEZ Reyna (since 16 August 1996); Vice President Jaime David FERNANDEZ Mirabal (since 16 August 1996); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    cabinet: Cabinet nominated by the president
    elections: president and vice president elected on the same ticket by popular vote for four-year term; election last held 16 May 1996; runoff election held 30 June 1996 (next to be held 16 May 2000)
    election results: Leonel FERNANDEZ Reyna elected president; percent of vote—Leonel FERNANDEZ Reyna (PLD) 51.25%, Jose Francisco PENA Gomez (PRD) 48.75%

    Legislative branch: bicameral National Congress or Congreso Nacional consists of the Senate or Senado (30 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms) and the Chamber of Deputies or Camara de Diputados (120 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: Senate—last held 16 May 1998 (next to be held NA May 2002); Chamber of Deputies—last held 16 May 1998 (next to be held NA May 2002)
    election results: Senate—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—PRD 24, PLD 4, PRSC 2; Chamber of Deputies—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—PRD 83, PLD 49, PRSC 17

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court or Corte Suprema (judges are elected by a Council made up of legislative and executive members with the president presiding)

    Political parties and leaders:
    major parties: Social Christian Reformist Party or PRSC [Joaquin BALAGUER Ricardo]; Dominican Liberation Party or PLD [Lidio CADET]; Dominican Revolutionary Party or PRD [Enmanuel ESQUEA]; Independent Revolutionary Party or PRI [leader NA]
    minor parties: National Veterans and Civilian Party or PNVC [Juan Rene BEAUCHAMPS Javier]; Liberal Party of the Dominican Republic or PLRD [Andres Van Der HORST]; Democratic Quisqueyan Party or PQD [Elias WESSIN Chavez]; National Progressive Force or FNP [Pelegrin CASTILLO]; Popular Christian Party or PPC [Rogelio DELGADO Bogaert]; Dominican Communist Party or PCD [Narciso ISA Conde]; Dominican Workers' Party or PTD [Ivan RODRIGUEZ]; Anti-Imperialist Patriotic Union or UPA [Ignacio RODRIGUEZ Chiappini]; Alliance for Democracy Party or APD [Maximilano Rabelais PUIG Miller, Nelsida MARMOLEJOS, Vicente BENGOA]; Democratic Union or UD [Fernando ALVAREZ Bogaert]
    note: in 1983 several leftist parties, including the PCD, joined to form the Dominican Leftist Front or FID; however, they still retain individual party structures

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Collective of Popular Organizations or COP

    International organization participation: ACP, Caricom (observer), ECLAC, FAO, G-11, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO (subscriber), ITU, LAES, LAIA (observer), NAM (guest), OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Bernardo VEGA Boyrie
    chancery: 1715 22nd Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 332-62801
    FAX: [1] (202) 265-8057
    consulate(s) general: Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, Mayaguez (Puerto Rico), Miami, New Orleans, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco, and San Juan (Puerto Rico)
    consulate(s): Charlotte Amalie (Virgin Islands), Detroit, Houston, Jacksonville, Mobile, and Ponce (Puerto Rico)

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant)
    embassy: corner of Calle Cesar Nicolas Penson and Calle Leopoldo Navarro, Santo Domingo
    mailing address: Unit 5500, APO AA 34041-5500
    telephone: [1] (809) 221-2171
    FAX: [1] (809) 686-7437

    Flag description: a centered white cross that extends to the edges divides the flag into four rectangles—the top ones are blue (hoist side) and red, the bottom ones are red (hoist side) and blue; a small coat of arms is at the center of the cross

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)