Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Dominica Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Commonwealth of Dominica
    conventional short form: Dominica

    Data code: DO

    Government type: parliamentary democracy

    Capital: Roseau

    Administrative divisions: 10 parishes; Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint John, Saint Joseph, Saint Luke, Saint Mark, Saint Patrick, Saint Paul, Saint Peter

    Independence: 3 November 1978 (from UK)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 3 November (1978)

    Constitution: 3 November 1978

    Legal system: based on English common law

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Vernon Lorden SHAW (since 7 October 1998)
    head of government: Prime Minister Edison C. JAMES (since 12 June 1995)
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister
    elections: president elected by the House of Assembly for a five-year term; election last held 7 October 1998 (next to be held NA October 2003); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: Vernon Lorden SHAW elected president; percent of legislative vote—NA

    Legislative branch: unicameral House of Assembly (30 seats, 9 appointed senators, 21 elected by popular vote representatives; members serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 12 June 1995 (next to be held by October 2000); byelections held 13 August 1996
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—UWP 12, DLP 5, DFP 4

    Judicial branch: Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (located in Saint Lucia), one of the six judges must reside in Dominica and preside over the Court of Summary Jurisdiction

    Political parties and leaders: Dominica Freedom Party or DFP [Charles SAVARIN]; Dominica Labor Party or DLP [Rosie DOUGLAS]; United Workers Party or UWP [Edison JAMES]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Dominica Liberation Movement or DLM (a small leftist party)

    International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM (observer), OAS, OECS, OPANAL, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WMO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Nicholas J. O. LIVERPOOL (resident in Dominica)
    chancery: 3216 New Mexico Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20016
    telephone: [1] (202) 364-6781
    FAX: [1] (202) 364-6791
    consulate(s) general: New York

    Diplomatic representation from the US: the US does not have an embassy in Dominica; the Ambassador to Dominica resides in Bridgetown (Barbados), but travels frequently to Dominica

    Flag description: green, with a centered cross of three equal bands—the vertical part is yellow (hoist side), black, and white and the horizontal part is yellow (top), black, and white; superimposed in the center of the cross is a red disk bearing a sisserou parrot encircled by 10 green, five-pointed stars edged in yellow; the 10 stars represent the 10 administrative divisions (parishes)

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)