Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Djibouti Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Djibouti
    conventional short form: Djibouti
    former: French Territory of the Afars and Issas, French Somaliland

    Data code: DJ

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Djibouti

    Administrative divisions: 5 districts (cercles, singular—cercle); 'Ali Sabih, Dikhil, Djibouti, Obock, Tadjoura

    Independence: 27 June 1977 (from France)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 27 June (1977)

    Constitution: multiparty constitution approved in referendum 4 September 1992

    Legal system: based on French civil law system, traditional practices, and Islamic law

    Suffrage: NA years of age; universal adult

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President HASSAN GOULED Aptidon (since 24 June 1977); note—President HASSAN GOULED announced early in the year that he would resign in April 1999
    head of government: Prime Minister BARKAT Gourad Hamadou (since 30 September 1978)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers responsible to the president
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a six-year term; election last held 7 May 1993 (next to be held 9 April 1999); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: President HASSAN GOULED reelected; percent of vote—NA

    Legislative branch: unicameral Chamber of Deputies or Chambre des Deputes (65 seats; members elected by popular vote for five-year terms)
    elections: last held 19 December 1997 (next to be held NA 2002)
    election results: percent of vote—NA; seats—RPP 65; note—RPP (the ruling party) dominated

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court (Cour Supreme)

    Political parties and leaders:
    ruling party: People's Progress Assembly or RPP [Hassan GOULED Aptidon]
    other parties: Democratic Renewal Party or PRD [Mohamed Jama ELABE]; Democratic National Party or PND [ADEN Robleh Awaleh]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Front for the Restoration of Unity and Democracy or FRUD, and affiliates; Movement for Unity and Democracy or MUD

    International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, AFESD, AL, AMF, ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IGAD, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador ROBLE Olhaye Oudine
    chancery: Suite 515, 1156 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
    telephone: [1] (202) 331-0270
    FAX: [1] (202) 331-0302

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Lange SCHERMERHORN
    embassy: Plateau du Serpent, Boulevard Marechal Joffre, Djibouti
    mailing address: B. P. 185, Djibouti
    telephone: [253] 35 39 95
    FAX: [253] 35 39 40

    Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of light blue (top) and light green with a white isosceles triangle based on the hoist side bearing a red five-pointed star in the center

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)