Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • ;; Home; Page; Country Index

    Swaziland Government 2000

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Kingdom of Swaziland
      conventional short form: Swaziland

      Data code: WZ

      Government type: monarchy; independent member of Commonwealth

      Capital: Mbabane; note - Lobamba is the royal and legislative capital

      Administrative divisions: 4 districts; Hhohho, Lubombo, Manzini, Shiselweni

      Independence: 6 September 1968 (from UK)

      National holiday: Somhlolo (Independence) Day, 6 September (1968)

      Constitution: none; constitution of 6 September 1968 was suspended 12 April 1973; a new constitution was promulgated 13 October 1978, but was not formally presented to the people; since then a few more outlines for a constitution have been compiled under the Constitutional Review Commission (CRC), but so far none have been accepted

      Legal system: based on South African Roman-Dutch law in statutory courts and Swazi traditional law and custom in traditional courts; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage: NA years of age

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: King MSWATI III (since 25 April 1986)
      head of government: Prime Minister Sibusiso Barnabas DLAMINI (since 9 August 1996)
      cabinet: Cabinet recommended by the prime minister and confirmed by the monarch
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; prime minister appointed by the monarch

      Legislative branch: bicameral Parliament or Libandla, an advisory body, consists of the Senate (30 seats - 10 appointed by the House of Assembly and 20 appointed by the monarch; members serve five-year terms) and the House of Assembly (65 seats - 10 appointed by the monarch and 55 elected by popular vote; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: House of Assembly - last held 16 and 24 October 1998 (next to be held NA 2003)
      election results: House of Assembly - balloting is done on a nonparty basis; candidates for election are nominated by the local council of each constituency and for each constituency the three candidates with the most votes in the first round of voting are narrowed to a single winner by a second round

      Judicial branch: High Court, judges are appointed by the monarch; Court of Appeal, judges are appointed by the monarch

      Political parties and leaders: Convention for Full Democracy in Swaziland or COFUDESWA [Sabelo DLAMINI]; Ngwane Socialist Revolutionary Party or NGWASOREP [leader NA]; People's United Democratic Movement or PUDEMO [Mario MASUKU]; Swaziland Communist Party or SWACOPA [Mphandlana SHONGWE]; Swaziland Democratic Alliance (represents key opposition parties) [Jerry NXUMALO]; Swaziland Federation of Trade Unions or SFTU [Jan SITHOLE]; Swaziland Liberation Front or FROLISA [leader NA]; Swaziland National Front or SWANAFRO [leader NA]; Swaziland Youth Congress or SWAYOCO (included in PUDEMO)
      note: political parties are banned by the constitution promulgated on 13 October 1978; illegal parties are prohibited from holding large public gatherings

      International organization participation: ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, OPCW, PCA, SACU, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Mary Madzandza KANYA
      chancery: 3400 International Drive NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 362-6683
      FAX: [1] (202) 244-8059

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Gregory L. JOHNSON
      embassy: Central Bank Building, Warner Street, Mbabane
      mailing address: P. O. Box 199, Mbabane
      telephone: [268] 404-6441 through 404-6445
      FAX: [268] 404-5959

      Flag description: three horizontal bands of blue (top), red (triple width), and blue; the red band is edged in yellow; centered in the red band is a large black and white shield covering two spears and a staff decorated with feather tassels, all placed horizontally

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)