Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |2000 INDEX|
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • ;; Home; Page; Country Index

    Rwanda Government 2000

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Rwandese Republic
      conventional short form: Rwanda
      local long form: Republika y'u Rwanda
      local short form: Rwanda

      Data code: RW

      Government type: republic; presidential, multiparty system

      Capital: Kigali

      Administrative divisions: 12 prefectures (in French - prefectures, singular - prefecture; in Kinyarwanda - plural - NA, singular - prefegitura); Butare, Byumba, Cyangugu, Gikongoro, Gisenyi, Gitarama, Kibungo, Kibuye, Kigali, Kigali-ville, Umutara, Ruhengeri

      Independence: 1 July 1962 (from Belgium-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 1 July (1962); Liberation Day, 4 July (1994)

      Constitution: on 5 May 1995, the Transitional National Assembly adopted a new constitution which included elements of the constitution of 18 June 1991 as well as provisions of the 1993 Arusha peace accord and the November 1994 multiparty protocol of understanding

      Legal system: based on German and Belgian civil law systems and customary law; judicial review of legislative acts in the Supreme Court; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal adult

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Maj. Gen. Paul KAGAME (FPR) (since 22 April 2000)
      head of government: Prime Minister Bernard MAKUZA (since 8 March 2000)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
      elections: normally the president is elected by popular vote for a five-year term; special election for new president by deputies of the National Assembly and governmental ministers held 17 April 2000 (next regular election to be held NA 2002); prime minister is appointed by the president
      election results: Paul KAGAME elected president in a special parliamentary vote receiving 81 of a possible 86 votes

      Legislative branch: unicameral Transitional National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale de Transition (a power-sharing body with 70 seats established on 12 December 1994 following a multiparty protocol of understanding; members were predetermined by the Arusha peace accord)
      elections: the last national legislative elections were held 16 December 1988 for the National Development Council (the legislature prior to the advent of the Transitional National Assembly); no elections have been held for the Transitional National Assembly as the distribution of seats was predetermined by the Arusha peace accord
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - FPR 13, MDR 13, PSD 13, PL 13, PDC 6, RPA 6, PSR 2, PDI 2, other 2; note - the distribution of seats was predetermined

      Judicial branch: Constitutional Court, consists of the Court of Cassation and the Council of State in joint session

      Political parties and leaders: Centrist Democratic Party or PDC [Jean-Nipomuscene NAYINZIRA]; Democratic and Socialist Party or PSD [Charles NIAKIRUTINKA, Juvenal NKSUI, Jacqueline MUHONGAYRIE]; Democratic Republican Movement or MDR [Pierre Celestin RWIGEMA, chairman]; Islamic Democratic Party or PDI [leader NA]; Liberal Party or PL [Agnes NTAMABYALIRO]; National Repulican Movement for Democracy and Development or MRNDD (formerly known as the National Movement for Democracy and Development or MRND [Mathieu NGIRUMPATSE]; Rwanda Patriotic Army or RPA [Maj. Gen. Paul KAGAME, commander]; Rwandan Patriotic Front or FPR [Maj. Gen. Paul KAGAME]; Rwandan Socialist Party or PSR [leader NA]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: IBUKA - association of genocide survivors

      International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, CEEAC, CEPGL, ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ITU, NAM, OAU, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Richard SEZIBERA
      chancery: 1714 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20009
      telephone: [1] (202) 232-2882
      FAX: [1] (202) 232-4544

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador George M. STAPLES
      embassy: Boulevard de la Revolution, Kigali
      mailing address: B. P. 28, Kigali
      telephone: [250] 756 01 through 03, 721 26, 771 47
      FAX: [250] 721 28

      Flag description: three equal vertical bands of red (hoist side), yellow, and green with a large black letter R centered in the yellow band; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia; similar to the flag of Guinea, which has a plain yellow band

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)