Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |2000 INDEX|
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • ;; Home; Page; Country Index

    Burkina Faso Government 2000

      Country name:
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Burkina Faso
      former: Upper Volta

      Data code: UV

      Government type: parliamentary

      Capital: Ouagadougou

      Administrative divisions: 30 provinces; Bam, Bazega, Bougouriba, Boulgou, Boulkiemde, Ganzourgou, Gnagna, Gourma, Houe, Kadiogo, Kenedougou, Komoe, Kossi, Kouritenga, Mouhoun, Namentenga, Naouri, Oubritenga, Oudalan, Passore, Poni, Sanguie, Sanmatenga, Seno, Sissili, Soum, Sourou, Tapoa, Yatenga, Zoundweogo
      note: a new electoral code was approved by the National Assembly in January 1997; the number of administrative provinces was increased from 30 to 45 (Bale, Bam, Banwa, Bazega, Bougouriba, Boulgou, Boulkiemde, Comoe, Ganzourgou, Gnagna, Gourma, Houet, Ioba, Kadiogo, Kenedougou, Komandjari, Kompienga, Kossi, Koupelogo, Kouritenga, Kourweogo, Leraba, Loroum, Mouhoun, Nahouri, Namentenga, Nayala, Naumbiel, Oubritenga, Oudalan, Passore, Poni, Samentenga, Sanguie, Seno, Sissili, Soum, Sourou, Tapoa, Tuy, Yagha, Yatenga, Ziro, Zondomo, Zoundweogo), however, this change has not yet been approved by the US Board on Geographic Names

      Independence: 5 August 1960 (from France)

      National holiday: Anniversary of the Revolution, 4 August (1983)

      Constitution: 2 June 1991 approved by referendum; 11 June 1991 formally adopted

      Legal system: based on French civil law system and customary law

      Suffrage: universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Captain Blaise COMPAORE (since 15 October 1987)
      head of government: Prime Minister Kadre Desire OUEDRAOGO (since 6 February 1996)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a seven-year term; the president may serve unlimited terms; election last held 15 November 1998 (next to be held NA 2005); prime minister appointed by the president with the consent of the legislature
      election results: Blaise COMPAORE reelected president with 88% percent of the vote, with 56% of voter turnout
      note: despite his reelection, President COMPAORE faces a growing political crisis due to his mishandling of an investigation into the assassination of a newspaper editor and pressure for political reform

      Legislative branch: bicameral; consists of a National Assembly or Assemblee des Deputes Populaires (ADP) (111 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) and the purely consultative Chamber of Representations or Chambre des Representants (178 seats; members are appointed to serve three-year terms)
      elections: National Assembly election last held 11 May 1997 (next to be held NA 2002)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - CDP 101, PDP 6, RDA 2, ADF 2

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court; Appeals Court

      Political parties and leaders: African Democratic Rally or RDA [Gerard Kango OUEDRAOGO, Clement SANOU]; Alliance for Democracy and Federation or ADF [Herman YAMEOGO]; Congress for Democracy and Progress or CDP [Din Salif SAWADAGO]; Group for Progressive Democrats or GDP [Issa TIENDREBEOGO]; Movement for Tolerance and Progress or MTP [Noyabtigungu Congo KABORE]; Party for African Independence or PAI [leader NA]; Party for Democracy and Progress or PDP [Joseph KI-ZERBO]; Party for Progress and Social Development or PPDS [leader NA]; Union of Greens for the Development of Burkina Faso or UVDB [Ram OVEDRAGO]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: Burkinabe General Confederation of Labor or CGTB; Burkinabe Movement for Human Rights or HBDHP; Group of 14 February; National Confederation of Burkinabe Workers or CNTB; National Organization of Free Unions or ONSL; watchdog/political action groups throughout the country in both organizations and communities

      International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, Entente, FAO, FZ, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, OIC, OPCW, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WADB, WADB (regional), WAEMU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Bruno ZIDOUEMBA
      chancery: 2340 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 332-5577
      FAX: [1] (202) 667-1882

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Jimmy J. KOLKER
      embassy: Avenue Raoul Follerau, Ouagadougou
      mailing address: 01 B. P. 35, Ouagadougou
      telephone: [226] 306723 through 306725
      FAX: [226] 303890

      Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a yellow five-pointed star in the center; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 01-Nov-00
    Copyright © 2000 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)