Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Honduras Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Honduras
    conventional short form: Honduras
    local long form: Republica de Honduras
    local short form: Honduras

    Data code: HO

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Tegucigalpa

    Administrative divisions: 18 departments (departamentos, singular—departamento) plus probable Central District (Tegucigalpa); Atlantida, Choluteca, Colon, Comayagua, Copan, Cortes, El Paraiso, Francisco Morazan, Gracias a Dios, Intibuca, Islas de la Bahia, La Paz, Lempira, Ocotepeque, Olancho, Santa Barbara, Valle, Yoro

    Independence: 15 September 1821 (from Spain)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 15 September (1821)

    Constitution: 11 January 1982, effective 20 January 1982

    Legal system: rooted in Roman and Spanish civil law; some influence of English common law; accepts ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal and compulsory

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Carlos Roberto FLORES Facusse (since 27 January 1998); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    head of government: President Carlos Roberto FLORES Facusse (since 27 January 1998); note—the president is both the chief of state and head of government
    cabinet: Cabinet appointed by president
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a four-year term; election last held 30 November 1997 (next to be held NA November 2001)
    election results: Carlos Roberto FLORES Facusse elected president; percent of vote—Carlos Roberto FLORES Facusse (PLH) 53%, Nora de MELGAR (PNH) 42%, other 5%

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly or Asamblea Nacional (128 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held on 30 November 1997 (next to be held November 2001)
    election results: percent of vote by party—PLH 50%, PNH 42%, PINU-SD 4%, PDCH 2%, other 2%; seats by party—PLH 70, PNH 55, PINU-SD 3

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court of Justice (Corte Suprema de Justica), judges are elected for four-year terms by the National Assembly

    Political parties and leaders: Liberal Party or PLH [Raphael PINEDA Ponce, president]; National Party of Honduras or PNH [Nora de MELGAR, president]; National Innovation and Unity Party-Social Democratic Party or PINU-SD [Olban VALLADARES, president]; Christian Democratic Party or PDCH [leader NA]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: National Association of Honduran Campesinos or ANACH; Honduran Council of Private Enterprise or COHEP; Confederation of Honduran Workers or CTH; National Union of Campesinos or UNC; General Workers Confederation or CGT; United Federation of Honduran Workers or FUTH; Committee for the Defense of Human Rights in Honduras or CODEH; Coordinating Committee of Popular Organizations or CCOP

    International organization participation: BCIE, CACM, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITU, LAES, LAIA (observer), MINURSO, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant)
    chancery: 3007 Tilden Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 966-7702
    FAX: [1] (202) 966-9751
    consulate(s) general: Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New Orleans, New York, San Francisco, and San Juan (Puerto Rico)
    consulate(s): Boston, Detroit, and Jacksonville

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador James Francis CREAGAN
    embassy: Avenida La Paz, Apartado Postal No. 3453, Tegucigalpa
    mailing address: American Embassy, APO AA 34022, Tegucigalpa
    telephone: [504] 238-5114, 326-9320
    FAX: [504] 236-9037

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, and blue with five blue five-pointed stars arranged in an X pattern centered in the white band; the stars represent the members of the former Federal Republic of Central America—Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua; similar to the flag of El Salvador, which features a round emblem encircled by the words REPUBLICA DE EL SALVADOR EN LA AMERICA CENTRAL centered in the white band; also similar to the flag of Nicaragua, which features a triangle encircled by the word REPUBLICA DE NICARAGUA on top and AMERICA CENTRAL on the bottom, centered in the white band

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)