Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Haiti Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Haiti
    conventional short form: Haiti
    local long form: Republique d'Haiti
    local short form: Haiti

    Data code: HA

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Port-au-Prince

    Administrative divisions: 9 departments, (departements, singular—departement); Artibonite, Centre, Grand'Anse, Nord, Nord-Est, Nord-Ouest, Ouest, Sud, Sud-Est

    Independence: 1 January 1804 (from France)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 1 January (1804)

    Constitution: approved March 1987; suspended June 1988, with most articles reinstated March 1989; in October 1991, government claimed to be observing the constitution; return to constitutional rule, October 1994

    Legal system: based on Roman civil law system; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Rene Garcia PREVAL (since 7 February 1996)
    head of government: Prime Minister Rosny SMARTH resigned June 1997; currently no prime minister; ratification of a new prime minister held up in political gridlock stemming from controversy over the 6 April 1997 elections
    cabinet: Cabinet; chosen by the prime minister in consultation with the president
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 17 December 1995 (next to be held by December 2000); prime minister appointed by the president, ratified by the Congress
    election results: Rene Garcia PREVAL elected president; percent of vote—Rene Garcia PREVAL 88%, Leon JEUNE 2.5%, Victor BENOIT 2.3%

    Legislative branch: bicameral National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale consists of the Senate (27 seats; members serve six-year terms; one-third elected every two years) and the Chamber of Deputies (83 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
    elections: Senate—last held 25 June 1995, with reruns on 13 August and runoffs on 17 September (election held for nine seats 6 April 1997; results disputed and runoffs postponed indefinitely); Chamber of Deputies—last held 25 June 1995, with reruns on 13 August and runoffs on 17 September (next Senate and Chamber of Deputies elections due November 1998 but delayed indefinitely)
    election results: Senate—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—OPL 7, FL-leaning 7, independents 3, vacant 10; Chamber of Deputies—percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—OPL 32, antineoliberal bloc 24, minor parties and independents 22, vacant 5

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court (Cour de Cassation)

    Political parties and leaders: Lavalas Family or FL [Jean-Bertrand ARISTIDE]; Struggling People's Organization or OPL [Gerard PIERRE-CHARLES]; National Front for Change and Democracy or FNCD [Evans PAUL and Turneb DELPE]; National Congress of Democratic Movements or KONAKOM [Victor BENOIT]; Movement for the Installation of Democracy in Haiti or MIDH [Marc BAZIN]; National Progressive Revolutionary Party or PANPRA [Serge GILLES]; Movement for National Reconstruction or MRN [Rene THEODORE]; Haitian Christian Democratic Party or PDCH [Fritz PIERRE]; Assembly of Progressive National Democrats or RDNP [Leslie MANIGAT]; Mobilization for National Development or MDN [Hubert DE RONCERAY]; Movement for the Organization of the Country or MOP [Gesner COMEAU and Jean MOLIERE]; Open the Gate Party or PLB [Renaud BERNARDIN]; Union of Patriotic Democrats or UPD [Rockefeller GUERRE]; Generation 2004 [Claude ROUMAIN]; Alliance for the Liberation and Advancement of Haiti or ALAH [Reynold GEORGES]; Haitian Democratic Party or PADEMH [Clark PARENT]; National Alliance for Democracy and Progress [leader NA]; Haiti Can or Ayiti Kapab [Ernst VERDIEU]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Roman Catholic Church; Confederation of Haitian Workers or CTH; Federation of Workers Trade Unions or FOS; Autonomous Haitian Workers or CATH; National Popular Assembly or APN; Papaye Peasants Movement or MPP; Popular Organizations Gathering Power or PROP

    International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, Caricom (observer), CCC, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITU, LAES, OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Louis Harold JOSEPH
    chancery: 2311 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 332-4090
    FAX: [1] (202) 745-7215
    consulate(s) general: Boston, Chicago, Miami, New York, and San Juan (Puerto Rico)

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Timothy Michael CARNEY
    embassy: 5 Harry Truman Boulevard, Port-au-Prince
    mailing address: P. O. Box 1761, Port-au-Prince
    telephone: [509] 22-0354, 22-0368, 22-0200, 22-0612
    FAX: [509] 23-1641

    Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of blue (top) and red with a centered white rectangle bearing the coat of arms, which contains a palm tree flanked by flags and two cannons above a scroll bearing the motto L'UNION FAIT LA FORCE (Union Makes Strength)

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)