Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Albania Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Albania
    conventional short form: Albania
    local long form: Republika e Shqiperise
    local short form: Shqiperia
    former: People's Socialist Republic of Albania

    Data code: AL

    Government type: emerging democracy

    Capital: Tirana

    Administrative divisions: 36 districts (rrethe, singular—rreth) and 1 municipality* (bashki); Berat, Bulqize, Delvine, Devoll (Bilisht), Diber (Peshkopi), Durres, Elbasan, Fier, Gjirokaster, Gramsh, Has (Krume), Kavaje, Kolonje (Erseke), Korce, Kruje, Kucove, Kukes, Lac, Lezhe, Librazhd, Lushnje, Malesi e Madhe (Koplik), Mallakaster (Ballsh), Mat (Burrel), Mirdite (Rreshen), Peqin, Permet, Pogradec, Puke, Sarande, Shkoder, Skrapar (Corovode), Tepelene, Tirane (Tirana), Tirane* (Tirana), Tropoje (Bajram Curri), Vlore
    note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)

    Independence: 28 November 1912 (from Ottoman Empire)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 28 November (1912)

    Constitution: a new constitution was adopted by popular referendum on 28 November 1998; note—the opposition Democratic Party boycotted the vote

    Legal system: has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal and compulsory

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President of the Republic Rexhep MEIDANI (since 24 July 1997)
    head of government: Prime Minister Pandeli MAJKO (since 2 October 1998)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers nominated by the prime minister and approved by the president
    elections: president elected by the People's Assembly for a five-year term; election last held 24 July 1997 (next to be held NA 2002); prime minister appointed by the president
    election results: Rexhep MEIDANI elected president; People's Assembly vote by number—total votes 122, for 110, against 3, abstained 2, invalid 7

    Legislative branch: unicameral People's Assembly or Kuvendi Popullor (155 seats; most members are elected by direct popular vote and some by proportional vote for four-year terms)
    elections: last held 29 June 1997 (next to be held NA 2001)
    election results: percent of vote by party—PS 53.36%, PD 25.33%, PSD 2.5%, PBDNJ 2.78%, PBK 2.36%, PAD 2.85%, PR 2.25%, PLL 3.09%, PDK 1.00%, PBSD 0.84%; seats by party—PS 101, PD 27, PSD 8, PBDNJ 4, PBK 3, PAD 2, PR 2, PLL 2, PDK 1, PBSD 1, PUK 1, independents 3

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, chairman of the Supreme Court is elected by the People's Assembly for a four-year term

    Political parties and leaders: Albanian Socialist Party or PS (formerly the Albania Workers Party) [Fatos NANO, chairman]; Democratic Party or PD [Sali BERISHA]; Albanian Republican Party or PR [Fatmir MEHDIU]; Social Democratic Party or PSD [Skender GJINUSHI]; Unity for Human Rights Party or PBDNJ [Vasil MELO, chairman]; National Front (Balli Kombetar) or PBK [Hysen SELFO]; Movement of Legality Party or PLL [Guri DUROLLARI]; Party of National Unity or PUK [Idajet BEQIRI]; Christian Democratic Party or PDK [Zef BUSHATI]; PBSD (expansion unknown) [leader NA]; Democratic Party of the Right or PDD [Petrit KALAKULA]; Democratic Alliance or PAD [Neritan CEKA]; Social Democratic Union Party or USdS [Teodor LACO]; Albanian United Right or DBSH [leader NA]

    International organization participation: BSEC, CCC, CE, CEI, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EU (applicant), FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, OIC, OPCW, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNOMIG, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Petrit BUSHATI
    chancery: 2100 S Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
    telephone: [1] (202) 223-4942
    FAX: [1] (202) 628-7342

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Marisa R. LINO
    embassy: Rruga Elbasanit 103, Tirana
    mailing address: American Embassy, Tirana, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-9510
    telephone: [355] (42) 47285 through 47289
    FAX: [355] (42) 32222

    Flag description: red with a black two-headed eagle in the center

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)