Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Venezuela Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Venezuela
      conventional short form: Venezuela
      local long form: Republica de Venezuela
      local short form : Venezuela

      Data code VE

      Government type republic

      National capital Caracas

      Administrative divisions 22 states (estados, singular - estado),1 federal district* (distritofederal), and 1 federal dependency** (dependencia federal); Amazonas, Anzoategui,Apure, Aragua, Barinas, Bolivar, Carabobo, Cojedes, Delta Amacuro, DependenciasFederales**, Distrito Federal*, Falcon, Guarico, Lara, Merida, Miranda, Monagas,Nueva Esparta, Portuguesa, Sucre, Tachira, Trujillo, Yaracuy, Zulia
      note: the federal dependency consists of 11 federally controlled island groupswith a total of 72 individual islands

      Independence 5 July 1811 (from Spain)

      National holiday Independence Day, 5 July (1811)

      Constitution 23 January 1961

      Legal system based on Napoleonic code; judicial review of legislative acts in CassationCourt only; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Rafael CALDERA Rodriguez (since 2 February 1994); note - thepresident is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Rafael CALDERA Rodriguez (since 2 February 1994); note - thepresident is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election lastheld 5 December 1993 (next to be held NA December 1998)
      election results : Rafael CALDERA Rodriguez elected president; percent of vote - RafaelCALDERA Rodriguez (National Convergence) 30.45%, Claudio FERMIN (AD) 23.59%,Oswaldo ALVAREZ PAZ (COPEI) 22.72%, Andres VELASQUEZ (Causa R) 21.94%, other1.3%

      Legislative branch bicameral Congress of the Republic or Congreso de la Republica consistsof the Senate or Senado (53 seats, two from each state and the Federal District,and retired presidents; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-yearterms) and Chamber of Deputies or Camara de Diputados (203 seats; membersare elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: Senate - last held 5 December 1993 (next to be held NA December 1998);Chamber of Deputies - last held 5 December 1993 (next to be held NA December1998)
      election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - AD 18, COPEI15, Causa R 9, MAS 5, National Convergence 6; note - three former presidents(2 from AD, 1 from COPEI) hold lifetime Senate seats; Chamber of Deputies- percent of vote by party - AD 27.9%, COPEI 26.9%, MAS 12.4%, National Convergence12.9%, Causa R 19.9%; seats by party - AD 55, COPEI 53, MAS 24, National Convergence26, Causa R 40, other 5

      Judicial branch Supreme Court of Justice (Corte Suprema de Justicia), magistrates areelected by both chambers in joint session

      Political parties and leaders National Convergence (Convergencia), Jose Miguel UZCATEGUI, president,Juan Jose CALDERA, national coordinator; Social Christian Party (COPEI), LuisHERRERA Campins, president, and Donald RAMIREZ, secretary general; DemocraticAction (AD), Pedro PARIS Montesinos, president, and Luis ALFARO Ucero, secretarygeneral; Movement Toward Socialism (MAS), Gustavo MARQUEZ, president, andEnrique OCHOA Antich, secretary general; Radical Cause (La Causa R), LucasMATHEUS, secretary general

      Political pressure groups and leaders FEDECAMARAS, a conservative business group; Venezuelan Confederationof Workers (CTV, labor organization dominated by the Democratic Action); VECINOSgroups

      International organization participation AG, BCIE, Caricom (observer), CCC, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G- 3, G-11, G-15,G-19, G-24, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS,IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, LAES, LAIA, MINURSO,NAM, OAS, OPANAL, OPEC, PCA, RG, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIKOM,UNU, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Pedro Luis ECHEVERRIA
      chancery: 1099 30th Street NW, Washington, DC 20007
      telephone : [1] (202) 342-2214
      FAX: [1] (202) 342-6820
      consulate(s) general: Boston, Chicago, Houston, Miami, New Orleans, New York, San Francisco,and San Juan (Puerto Rico)

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission : Ambassador John Francis MAISTO
      embassy: Calle F con Calle Suapure, Colinas de Valle Arriba, Caracas 1060
      mailing address: P. O. Box 62291, Caracas 1060-A; APO AA 34037
      telephone: [58] (2) 977-2011
      FAX: [58] (2) 977-0843

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of yellow (top), blue, and red with thecoat of arms on the hoist side of the yellow band and an arc of seven whitefive-pointed stars centered in the blue band

      NOTE: The information regarding Venezuela on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Venezuela Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Venezuela Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)