Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Vanuatu Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Vanuatu
      conventional short form: Vanuatu
      former: New Hebrides

      Data code NH

      Government type republic

      National capital Port-Vila

      Administrative divisions 6 provinces; Malampa, Penama, Sanma, Shefa, Tafea, Torba

      Independence 30 July 1980 (from France and UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 30 July (1980)

      Constitution 30 July 1980

      Legal system unified system being created from former dual French and British systems

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Jean Marie LEYE (since 2 March 1994)
      head of government: Prime Minister Rialuth Serge VOHOR (since 30 September 1996); DeputyPrime Minister Donald KALPOKAS (since 25 October 1996)
      cabinet : Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister, responsible toParliament
      elections: president elected by an electoral college consisting of Parliament andthe presidents of the regional councils for a five-year term; election forpresident last held 2 March 1994 (next to be held NA 1999); following legislativeelections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition is usuallyelected prime minister by Parliament from among its members; election forprime minister last held 30 September 1996 (next to be held NA November 1999);note - the general legislative elections in November 1995 did not give a majorityto any of the political parties; since the election, there have been threechanges of government - all of which have been coalitions formed by Parliamentaryvote; Rialuth Serge VOHOR was prime minister from November 1995 until he resigned7 February 1996 when faced with a no-confidence vote in Parliament; MaximeCarlot KORMAN was then elected prime minister and served until he was oustedin a no-confidence motion on 30 September 1996; VOHOR was then elected primeminister for a second time
      election results: Jean Marie LEYE elected president; percent of electoral college vote- NA; Serge VOHOR elected prime minister by a Parliamentary vote of 28 to22

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament (50 seats; members elected by popular vote toserve four-year terms)
      elections : last held 30 November 1995 (next to be held NA November 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - UMP 17, VP 14, NUP 9,MPP 5, TU 2, Na-Griamel Movement 1, Friend Melanesian Party 1, independent1; note - political party associations are fluid; there have been three changesof government since the November 1995 elections
      note : the National Council of Chiefs advises on matters of custom and land

      Judicial branch Supreme Court, chief justice is appointed by the president after consultationwith the prime minister and the leader of the opposition, three other justicesare appointed by the president on the advice of the Judicial Service Commission

      Political parties and leaders Union of Moderate Parties (UMP), Serge VOHOR; National United Party(NUP), Walter LINI; Vanuatu Party (VP), Donald KALPOKAS; Melanesian Progressive Party (MPP), Barak SOPE; Tan Union (TU), Vincent BOULEKONE; Na-Griamel Movement,Frankie STEVENS; Friend Melanesian Party, Albert RAUUTIA

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AsDB, C, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA,IFC, IFRCS, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), IOC, ITU, NAM, Sparteca,SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US Vanuatu does not have an embassy in the US

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Vanuatu; the ambassador to PapuaNew Guinea is accredited to Vanuatu

      Flag description two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a black isoscelestriangle (based on the hoist side) all separated by a black-edged yellow stripein the shape of a horizontal Y (the two points of the Y face the hoist sideand enclose the triangle); centered in the triangle is a boar's tusk encirclingtwo crossed namele leaves, all in yellow

      NOTE: The information regarding Vanuatu on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Vanuatu Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Vanuatu Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)