Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Uzbekistan Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form : Republic of Uzbekistan
      conventional short form: Uzbekistan
      local long form: Uzbekiston Respublikasi
      local short form: none
      former : Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic

      Data code UZ

      Government type republic

      National capital Tashkent (Toshkent)

      Administrative divisions 12 wiloyatlar (singular - wiloyat), 1 autonomous republic* (respublikasi),and 1 city** (shahri); Andijon Wiloyati, Bukhoro Wiloyati, Jizzakh Wiloyati,Farghona Wiloyati, Qoraqalpoghiston* (Nukus), Qashqadaryo Wiloyati (Qarshi),Khorazm Wiloyati (Urganch), Namangan Wiloyati, Nawoiy Wiloyati, SamarqandWiloyati, Sirdaryo Wiloyati (Guliston), Surkhondaryo Wiloyati (Termiz), ToshkentShahri**, Toshkent Wiloyati
      note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrativecenters (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)

      Independence 31 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)

      National holiday Independence Day, 1 September (1991)

      Constitution new constitution adopted 8 December 1992

      Legal system evolution of Soviet civil law; still lacks independent judicial system

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Islom KARIMOV (since 24 March 1990, when he was elected presidentby the then Supreme Soviet)
      head of government: Prime Minister Utkur SULTONOV (since December 1995); First Deputy PrimeMinister Ismoil JURABEKOV (since NA); First Deputy Prime Minister for AgricultureQobiljon OBIDOV (since NA); Deputy Prime Ministers Viktor CHIZHEN (since NA),Bakhtiyor HAMIDOV (since NA), Kayim HAQQULOV (since NA), Dilbar GHOLOMOVA(since NA), Alisher AZIZKHOJAYEV (since NA), Mirabror USMONOV (since NA),Murat SHARIFKHOJAYEV (since NA), Rustam YUNUSOV (since NA)
      cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president with approval of theSupreme Assembly
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election lastheld 29 December 1991 (next to be held NA 2000; note - extension of PresidentKARIMOV's term for an additional four years overwhelmingly approved - 99.6% of total vote in favor - by national referendum held 26 March 1995); primeminister and deputy prime ministers appointed by the president
      election results: Islom KARIMOV elected president; percent of vote - Islom KARIMOV 86%,Mukhammad SOLIKH 12%, other 2%

      Legislative branch unicameral Supreme Assembly or Oliy Majlis (250 seats; members are electedby popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 25 December 1994 (next to be held NA 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - People's DemocraticParty 207, Fatherland Progress Party 12, other 31; note - final runoffs wereheld 22 January 1995; seating was as follows: People's Democratic Party 69, Fatherland Progress Party 14, Social Democratic Party 47, local government120
      note: all parties in parliament support President KARIMOV

      Judicial branch Supreme Court, judges are nominated by the president and confirmed bythe Supreme Assembly

      Political parties and leaders People's Democratic Party or PDP (formerly Communist Party) [Islom A.KARIMOV, chairman]; Fatherland Progress Party or FPP [Anwar YULDASHEV, chairman];Social Democratic Party [Anvar JORABAYEV, chairman]

      Political pressure groups and leaders Birlik (Unity) People's Movement or BPM [Ibrahim BURIYEV, chairman];Islamic Rebirth Party or IRP [Abdullah UTAYEV, chairman]; Erk (Freedom) DemocraticParty was banned 9 December 1992
      note: UTAYEV or IRP is either in prison or in exile

      International organization participation AsDB, CCC, CIS, EBRD, ECE, ECO, ESCAP, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFC, IFRCS,ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, NACC, NAM, OIC, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD,UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Sodyk SAFAYEV
      chancery: 1746 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      telephone: [1] (202) 887-5300
      FAX: [1] (202) 293-6804
      consulate(s) general : New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Stanley T. ESCUDERO
      embassy: 82 Chilanzarskaya, Tashkent
      mailing address: use embassy street address
      telephone : [7] (3712) 77-14-07, 77-10-81, 77-69-86
      FAX: [7] (3712) 40-63-35

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, and green separatedby red fimbriations with a crescent moon and 12 stars in the upper hoist-side quadrant

      NOTE: The information regarding Uzbekistan on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Uzbekistan Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Uzbekistan Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)