Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1998 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Netherlands Antilles Government 1997

      Country name
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Netherlands Antilles
      local long form: none
      local short form : Nederlandse Antillen

      Data code NT

      Dependency status part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands; full autonomy in internal affairsgranted in 1954

      Government type NA

      National capital Willemstad

      Administrative divisions none (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)
      note: each island has its own government

      Independence none (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

      National holiday Queen's Day, 30 April (1938)

      Constitution 29 December 1954, Statute of the Realm of the Netherlands, as amended

      Legal system based on Dutch civil law system, with some English common law influence

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard of the Netherlands (since 30 April1980), represented by Governor General Jaime SALEH (since NA October 1989)
      head of government: Prime Minister Miguel POURIER (since 25 February 1994)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers elected by the Staten
      elections: the queen is a constitutional monarch; governor general appointed bythe queen for a six-year term; following legislative elections, the leaderof the majority party is usually elected prime minister by the Staten; electionlast held 31 March 1994 (next to be held NA 1998)
      election results: Miguel POURIER elected prime minister; percent of legislative vote -NA

      Legislative branch unicameral States or Staten (23 seats; members are elected by popularvote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 25 February 1994 (next to be held NA March 1998)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PAR 8, PNP 3, SPA 2,PDB 2, UPB 1, MAN 2, DP 1, WIPM 1, DP-St.E 1, DP-St.M 1, Nos Patria 1
      note: the government of Prime Minister Miguel POURIER is a coalition of severalparties

      Judicial branch Joint High Court of Justice

      Political parties and leaders political parties are indigenous to each island
      Bonaire: Patriotic Union of Bonaire (UPB), Rudy ELLIS; Democratic Party of Bonaire(PDB), Broertje JANJA
      Curacao : Antillean Restructuring Party (PAR), Miguel POURIER; National People'sParty (PNP), Maria LIBERIA-PETERS; New Antilles Movement (MAN), Domenico FelipDon MARTINA; Workers' Liberation Front (FOL), Wilson (Papa) GODETT; SocialistIndependent (SI), George HUECK and Nelson MONTE; Democratic Party of Curacao(DP), Augustin DIAZ; Nos Patria, Chin BEHILIA
      Saba : Windward Islands People's Movement (WIPM Saba), Ray HASSELL; Saba DemocraticLabor Movement, Steve HASSELL; Saba Unity Party, Carmen SIMMONDS
      Sint Eustatius: Democratic Party of Sint Eustatius (DP-St.E), Julian WOODLEY; WindwardIslands People's Movement (WIPM); St. Eustatius Alliance (SEA), Ingrid WHITFIELD
      Sint Maarten: Democratic Party of Sint Maarten (DP-St.M), Sarah WESTCOTT-WILLIAMS;Patriotic Movement of Sint Maarten (SPA), Vance JAMES; Serious AlternativePeople's Party (SAPP) Julian ROLLOCKS

      International organization participation Caricom (observer), ECLAC (associate), Interpol, IOC, UNESCO (associate),UPU, WMO, WToO (associate)

      Diplomatic representation in the US none (represented by the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Consul General James L. WILLIAMS
      consulate(s) general: J.B. Gorsiraweg #1, Curacao
      mailing address: P. O. Box 158, Willemstad, Curacao
      telephone : [599] (9) 461-3066
      FAX: [599] (9) 461-6489

      Flag description white with a horizontal blue stripe in the center superimposed on avertical red band also centered; five white five-pointed stars are arranged in an oval pattern in the center of the blue band; the five stars representthe five main islands of Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Sint Eustatius, and SintMaarten

      NOTE: The information regarding Netherlands Antilles on this page is re-published from the 1997 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Netherlands Antilles Government 1997 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Netherlands Antilles Government 1997 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 06-Mar-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)