Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Papua New Guinea Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Independent State of Papua New Guinea
    conventional short form: Papua New Guinea
    abbreviation: PNG

    Data code: PP

    Government type: parliamentary democracy

    Capital: Port Moresby

    Administrative divisions: 20 provinces; Bougainville, Central, Chimbu, Eastern Highlands, East New Britain, East Sepik, Enga, Gulf, Madang, Manus, Milne Bay, Morobe, National Capital, New Ireland, Northern, Sandaun, Southern Highlands, Western, Western Highlands, West New Britain

    Independence: 16 September 1975 (from the Australian-administered UN trusteeship)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 16 September (1975)

    Constitution: 16 September 1975

    Legal system: based on English common law

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Silas ATOPARE (since 13 November 1997)
    head of government: Prime Minister Bill SKATE (since 22 July 1997); Deputy Prime Minister Iairo LASARO (since 20 October 1998)
    cabinet: National Executive Council appointed by the governor general on the recommendation of the prime minister
    elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor general appointed by the National Executive Council; prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general for up to five years on the basis of majority support in National Parliament

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Parliament—sometimes referred to as the House of Assembly (109 seats—89 elected from open electorates and 20 from provincial electorates; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 14-28 June 1997 (next to be held NA June 2002)
    election results: percent of vote by party—PPP 15%, Pangu Pati 14%, NA 14%, PDM 8%, PNC 6%, PAP 5%, UP 3%, NP 1%, PUP 1%, independents 33%; seats by party—PPP 16, Pangu Pati 15, NA 15, PDM 9, PNC 7, PAP 5, UP 3, NP 1, PUP 1, independents 37; note—association with political parties is very fluid

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, the chief justice is appointed by the governor general on the proposal of the National Executive Council after consultation with the minister responsible for justice, other judges are appointed by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission

    Political parties and leaders: Bougainville Unity Alliance or BUA [Samuel AKOITAI]; People's Progress Party or PPP [Michael NALI]; Papua New Guinea United Party or Pangu Pati [Chris HAIVETA]; National Alliance or NA [Michael SOMARE]; People's Democratic Movement or PDM [Iario LASARO]; People's Action Party or PAP [Ted DIRO]; United Party or UP [Rimbiuk PATO]; National Party or NP [Paul PORA]; People's Unity Party or PUP [Alfred KAIABE]; Melanesian Alliance or MA [Fr. John MOMIS]; Movement for Greater Autonomy [Stephen POKAWIN]; Christian Democratic Party [Dilu GOMA]; Papua New Guinea First Party (includes People's National Congress or PNC [Bill SKATE] and Christian Country Party [Avusi TANO]); People's Resources Awareness Party [leader NA]; Liberal Party [Rabbie SAMAI]; People's Solidarity Party [Kala SWOKIM]; Melanesian Labour Party [Paul MONDIA]; Black Action Party [Paul WANJIK]; League for National Advancement or LNA [leader NA]; United Resource Party [Masket IANGALIO]; Hausman Party [Waim TOKAM]; Milne Bay Party [Simon MUMURIK]

    International organization participation: ACP, APEC, AsDB, ASEAN (observer), C, CP, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OPCW, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Nagora Y. BOGAN
    chancery: 1779 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
    telephone: [1] (202) 745-3680
    FAX: [1] (202) 745-3679

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Arma Jane KARAER
    embassy: Douglas Street, Port Moresby
    mailing address: P. O. Box 1492, Port Moresby
    telephone: [675] 321-1455
    FAX: [675] 321-3423

    Flag description: divided diagonally from upper hoist-side corner; the upper triangle is red with a soaring yellow bird of paradise centered; the lower triangle is black with five white five-pointed stars of the Southern Cross constellation centered

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)