Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
;; Home; Page; Country Index

Lithuania Government

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Lithuania
    conventional short form: Lithuania
    local long form: Lietuvos Respublika
    local short form: Lietuva
    former: Lithuanian Soviet Socialist Republic

    Data code: LH

    Government type: parliamentary democracy

    Capital: Vilnius

    Administrative divisions: 44 regions (rajonai, singular—rajonas) and 11 municipalities*: Akmenes Rajonas, Alytaus Rajonas, Alytus*, Anyksciu Rajonas, Birstonas*, Birzu Rajonas, Druskininkai*, Ignalinos Rajonas, Jonavos Rajonas, Joniskio Rajonas, Jurbarko Rajonas, Kaisiadoriu Rajonas, Kaunas*, Kauno Rajonas, Kedainiu Rajonas, Kelmes Rajonas, Klaipeda*, Klaipedos Rajonas, Kretingos Rajonas, Kupiskio Rajonas, Lazdiju Rajonas, Marijampole*, Marijampoles Rajonas, Mazeikiu Rajonas, Moletu Rajonas, Neringa* Pakruojo Rajonas, Palanga*, Panevezio Rajonas, Panevezys*, Pasvalio Rajonas, Plunges Rajonas, Prienu Rajonas, Radviliskio Rajonas, Raseiniu Rajonas, Rokiskio Rajonas, Sakiu Rajonas, Salcininku Rajonas, Siauliai*, Siauliu Rajonas, Silales Rajonas, Silutes Rajonas, Sirvintu Rajonas, Skuodo Rajonas, Svencioniu Rajonas, Taurages Rajonas, Telsiu Rajonas, Traku Rajonas, Ukmerges Rajonas, Utenos Rajonas, Varenos Rajonas, Vilkaviskio Rajonas, Vilniaus Rajonas, Vilnius*, Zarasu Rajonas

    Independence: 6 September 1991 (from Soviet Union)

    National holiday: Statehood Day, 16 February (1918)

    Constitution: adopted 25 October 1992

    Legal system: based on civil law system; no judicial review of legislative acts

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Valdas ADAMKUS (since 26 February 1998)
    head of government: Premier Gediminas VAGNORIUS (since 28 November 1996)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the nomination of the premier
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 21 December 1997 and 5 January 1998 (next to be held NA 2003); premier appointed by the president on the approval of the Parliament
    election results: Valdas ADAMKUS elected president; percent of vote—Valdas ADAMKUS 50.37%, Arturas PAULAUSKAS 49.7%

    Legislative branch: unicameral Parliament or Seimas (141 seats, 71 members are directly elected by popular vote, 70 are elected by proportional representation; members serve four-year terms)
    elections: last held 20 October and 10 November 1996 (next to be held NA October 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—NA; seats by party—TS 69, LKDP 15, LCS 15, LDDP 12, LSDP 10, DP 2, independents 12, others 6

    Judicial branch: Supreme Court, judges appointed by the Parliament; Court of Appeal, judges appointed by the Parliament

    Political parties and leaders: Christian Democratic Party or LKDP [Algirdas SAUDARGAS, chairman]; Democratic Labor Party of Lithuania or LDDP [Ceslovas JURSENAS, chairman]; Lithuanian Nationalist Union or LTS [Rimantas SMETONA, chairman]; Lithuanian Social Democratic Party or LSDP [Aloyzas SAKALAS, chairman]; Lithuanian Farmer's Party or LUP (previously Farmers' Union) [Albinas VAIZMUZIS, chairman]; Lithuanian Center Union or LCS [Romualdas OZOLAS, chairman]; Homeland Union/Conservative Party or TS [Vytautas LANDSBERGIS, chairman]; Lithuanian Polish Union or LLS [Rsztardas MACIEKIANIEC, chairman]; Democratic Party or DP [Lydie WURTH-POLFER, president]

    Political pressure groups and leaders: Lithuanian Future Forum

    International organization participation: BIS, CBSS, CCC, CE, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EU (applicant), FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (correspondent), ITU, OPCW, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WEU (associate partner), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Stasys SAKALAUSKAS
    chancery: 2622 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20009
    telephone: [1] (202) 234-5860
    FAX: [1] (202) 328-0466
    consulate(s) general: Chicago and New York

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Keith C. SMITH
    embassy: Akmenu 6, 2600 Vilnius
    mailing address: American Embassy, Vilnius, PSC 78, Box V, APO AE 09723
    telephone: [370] (2) 223-031
    FAX: [370] (6) 706-084

    Flag description: three equal horizontal bands of yellow (top), green, and red

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)