Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries; Home; Page; Country Index

Cape Verde Government 1999

    Country name:
    conventional long form: Republic of Cape Verde
    conventional short form: Cape Verde
    local long form: Republica de Cabo Verde
    local short form: Cabo Verde

    Data code: CV

    Government type: republic

    Capital: Praia

    Administrative divisions: 14 districts (concelhos, singular—concelho); Boa Vista, Brava, Fogo, Maio, Paul, Praia, Porto Novo, Ribeira Grande, Sal, Santa Catarina, Santa Cruz, Sao Nicolau, Sao Vicente, Tarrafal
    note: there may be a new administrative structure of 16 districts (Boa Vista, Brava, Maio, Mosteiros, Paul, Praia, Porto Novo, Ribeira Grande, Sal, Santa Catarina, Santa Cruz, Sao Domingos, Sao Nicolau, Sao Filipe, Sao Vicente, Tarrafal)

    Independence: 5 July 1975 (from Portugal)

    National holiday: Independence Day, 5 July (1975)

    Constitution: new constitution came into force 25 September 1992

    Legal system: derived from the legal system of Portugal

    Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

    Executive branch:
    chief of state: President Antonio MASCARENHAS Monteiro (since 22 March 1991)
    head of government: Prime Minister Carlos Alberto Wahnon de Carvalho VEIGA (since 13 January 1991)
    cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister from among the members of the National Assembly
    elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 18 February 1996 (next to be held NA February 2001); prime minister nominated by the National Assembly and appointed by the president
    election results: Antonio MASCARENHAS Monteiro elected president; percent of vote—Antonio MASCARENHAS Monteiro (independent) 80.1%

    Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly or Assembleia Nacional (72 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
    elections: last held 17 December 1995 (next to be held NA 2000)
    election results: percent of vote by party—MPD 59%, PAICV 28%, PCD 6%; seats by party—MPD 50, PAICV 21, PCD 1

    Judicial branch: Supreme Tribunal of Justice or Supremo Tribunal de Justia

    Political parties and leaders: Movement for Democracy or MPD [Prime Minister Carlos VEIGA, founder and president]; African Party for Independence of Cape Verde or PAICV [Pedro Verona Rodrigues PIRES, chairman]; Party for Democratic Convergence or PCD [Dr. Eurico MONTEIRO, president]; Party of Work and Solidarity or PTS [Dr. Oresimo SILVEIRA, president]

    International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ITU, NAM, OAU, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

    Diplomatic representation in the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Ferdinand Amilcar Spencer LOPES
    chancery: 3415 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20007
    telephone: [1] (202) 965-6820
    FAX: [1] (202) 965-1207
    consulate(s) general: Boston

    Diplomatic representation from the US:
    chief of mission: Ambassador Lawrence Neal BENEDICT
    embassy: Rua Abilio Macedo 81, Praia
    mailing address: C. P. 201, Praia
    telephone: [238] 61 56 16
    FAX: [238] 61 13 55

    Flag description: three horizontal bands of light blue (top, double width), white (with a horizontal red stripe in the middle third), and light blue; a circle of 10 yellow five-pointed stars is centered on the hoist end of the red stripe and extends into the upper and lower blue bands

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

Revised 1-Mar-99
Copyright © 1999 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)